29
Nov
09

FroYo

At 10:45pm tonight (Sunday) I still hadn’t eaten dinner, and skipping meals doesn’t cut it for me. So as I was driving down MLK looking for an open restaurant, I noticed the heavenly TCBY had a big neon sign that read Drive-Thru OPEN. Heaven forbid I go through the drive-thru, though, because a driver can never eat ice cream while driving. So, I went inside to friendly faces despite the fact they were cleaning up and closing shop.

By the way, for those of you who have always wondered… TCBY stands for “The Country’s Best Yogurt.”

Freshman and sophomore year, TCBY was at least a bi-weekly event. However, since all these other frozen yogurt places have popped up, my loyalty has significantly waned. The first of these new yogurt joints in Austin? To my knowledge it was YogoBerry on South Congress which has now closed. The next of its kind: Yogurt Planet at The Triangle. About 16 flavors of soft-serve ice cream including the plain flavor that Pinkberry made so popular, and many, many toppings. And after “Planet” came Yogurt Spot on Guadalupe, then Swirll on the drag, and many more places are opening soon. One on 24th on top of Starbucks called JuicyTart!

Check out this map and let me know which froyo places I missed!

5 Responses to “FroYo”


  1. 1 Leigh.
    November 30, 2009 at 7:09 am

    i really love tart frozen yogurt, even though i know soon enough it will probably go the way of most fads (gourmet cupcake stands, anyone?) the original tart flavor is addictingggg.

  2. 2 jennifer
    November 30, 2009 at 9:54 am

    You MUST try orange cup froyo at the domain. they have 4 flavors and it is by far the most delicious, most fresh froyo in town !! leigh, they have a great tart/original flavor (it’s my fav !)

  3. 3 Erin Harris
    December 1, 2009 at 2:19 pm

    I love Orange Cup! I forgot that they opened one here in Austin! For some reason, I’m unable to search for that location on Google. Hopefully soon I can add that pinpoint! Thanks, Jennifer!

  4. December 2, 2009 at 8:03 pm

    I have to say I am partial to Pinkberry– we need them in Texas. Every time I visit LA, that and In ‘N Out are necessary stops for me!

  5. 5 Erin Harris
    December 2, 2009 at 8:09 pm

    There is one in Dallas now at Preston/Royal!


Leave a Reply

