27
Nov
09

Black Friday Mayhem

Black Friday, a shopaholic’s favorite holiday! It’s certainly one of my favorite days, besides my birthday and Christmas.

 The day after Thanksgiving is the busiest shopping day in America. I spent Thanksgiving in San Antonio with family. It was great to be home. San Antonio has a lot of great shopping centers—North Star Mall, The ForumThe Shops at La Cantera, etc. The Tanger Outlet in San Marcos, which is only about 45 minutes north, also has great places to shop.

Coupons arrived at my house a few days before the extravaganza of Black Friday. I was super excited to see all of my 30%-50% coupons be put to great use for the day. Most discounts for chain stores were highly publicized in the Thanksgiving newspaper edition.

Online or at the mall, a shopper is bound to catch a great deal. But it’s nice to catch a few sales for the majority of Christmas gifts. I’m not a die-hard shopper who camps outside of the mall the night before; I’m more of a person who gets up at a reasonable time and shops. But I did go to sleep very early. We still had guests in our house, but I made sure I was going to get a good nights rests.

Shoppers at North Star Malll

My grandmother, “Mema,” and I were at the mall for about four hours. Time flew by, and the crowd had semi-died down by the time we arrived at North Star Mall. As we ate our lunch, Burbank High School Band, played a few hits for the shoppers. Watch the video below to see the band perform. The audio is off at the beginning but the band’s music toward the end, plays perfectly.

5 Responses to “Black Friday Mayhem”


  1. 1 Cassandra H
    November 29, 2009 at 12:48 am

    I decided to venture out for some Black Friday shopping as well. Granted, I only went to a Hastings in Round Rock but I still got some great deals. Ashton Kutcher put on his Twitter that Black Friday shoppers spent $10.6 billion both in physical stores and online. Craziness! Thanks for the post!

  2. November 29, 2009 at 9:55 am

    I’ve never heard of Hastings, what kind of items do they offer?

  3. 3 lonnyca
    November 29, 2009 at 4:06 pm

    Hastings is like a blockbusters but with a book collection and a nicknack area.
    I went to the Round Rock outlet center just for fun and when I got there, there was this loonnng ass line in front of Coach. Supposedly everything in the store was 50% off. crazy

  4. November 29, 2009 at 9:03 pm

    You are a brave soul for going out on Black Friday. My mom and her parents always went and I never really understood why people battle the crowds and mayhem for a few deals but I’ve heard of some crazy discounts in the wee hours of the morning.

  5. November 29, 2009 at 9:12 pm

    Black Friday is one of the most frightful days in the world to me in SA because my mom lives by North Star and my dad by La Cantera. Luckily, the traffic didn’t seem too bad. I’ve always purposely avoiding this craziness, I may have to try in out one day, it seems to be a part of the American experience.


Leave a Reply

