17
Nov
09

Meteor Shower!

I woke at three this morning with some friends to watch the Perseid Meteor Shower pass over the Austin skies. The cloud of cosmic debris following the comet Swift-Tuttle completes it’s orbit every 130 years. Call me a Debbie-downer but it was so cold I think that 130 years would be about all I could bear.
Perseid Meteor Shower
It took a little while to find an are dark enough to see the sky well, but we finally settled at the Hyde Park Pool and gazed up. It took a little while to spot the first one but once we knew what to look for, we began to catch them darting across the sky more frequently. Watching the Perseid Meteor ShowerI’m sure I’ll tick of a few astronomers, but the next time you have an opportunity to see a bunch of space rocks that only fly by every hundred years at three in the morning in the freezing cold, stay in bed! But if you’ve got nothing to do the next day and have a few warm jackets and a little patience, you’ll have a good time.

3 Responses to “Meteor Shower!”


  1. 1 Erin Harris
    November 17, 2009 at 10:02 pm

    If I had only known this was going to happen! I would have for sure woken up! I love space stuff. I love the picture of the cloud of cosmic debris.

  2. November 18, 2009 at 6:12 pm

    I was up very early this morning, but I couldn’t see anything since I was in Central Austin.

  3. 3 lovebug35
    November 18, 2009 at 10:53 pm

    wow.. I missed this.. I should have woken up to see the meteor shower.


Leave a Reply

