10
Nov
09

More than just Mrs. Johnson’s counterpart

This is a Grant-inspired post. I had to expose Ken’s Donuts, what he referred to as “Mrs. Johnson’s counterpart.”

Storefront

Storefront

Here’s an interview I had with Lauren “I Keep Ken’s in Business.” I figured she’d do it justice:

Lauren "I Keep Ken's in Bizz"

Lauren "I Keep Ken's in Bizz"

What is your favorite kind of donut?

A warm glazed. The warm part is key. I found out that they make them starting at 10:30 at every hour and so I like to plan my night around that because I like my donuts warm.

Do you ever change it up?

Yes, sometimes I need something sweeter and opt for the white, iced sprinkled.

How frequently do you go to Ken’s?

I used to frequent the shop up to 3 times a week, but I’ve limited myself to a donut outing about once a month. My friends think I’m crazy. They think it’s an addiction.

Why Ken’s?

Because it is close to where I live and convenient and open 24 hours and the owners are so friendly.

What’s the craziest hour you’ve been to Ken’s?

Probably 2 am. The owners are always there whenever I go. I have no idea when they rest.

What do you think about the male owner?

I think he is witty and playful and customer-friendly. He says his name is Ken, but I don’t buy it because he likes to joke with the customers. One time I went in there, and I was so upset that I had missed the new, warm batch of glazed, and “Ken” had me wait until he made a fresh batch.

"Ken"

"Ken"

Best experience?

They all sort of blend together. Normally I go after a long night of studying. I like to reward myself with something sweet.

What makes Ken’s unique?
They call their donut holes centers and they also sell Blue Bell ice cream and samosas.

Donut centers

Donut centers

Why do they call them centers instead of donut holes?

Because it’s the center of the donut and a hole can be any part of the donut.

Donuts

Donuts

How do you spell donut?

D-o-n-u-t because that’s how Ken’s spells it.

3 Responses to “More than just Mrs. Johnson’s counterpart”


  1. 1 Leigh.
    November 10, 2009 at 2:43 pm

    ken looks pissed in that photo.

    and i can’t say i’ve ever eaten a ken’s donut (i KNOW, okay), but they make the entire block smell like sugar! so goodddddd.

  2. November 11, 2009 at 5:38 am

    Even though I’m a die hard Krispy Kreme fan, I might just have to try Ken’s. Those pictures are making me hungry for a nice treat.

  3. 3 Tim
    November 13, 2009 at 11:34 am

    Really like their samosas. Kind of a unique thing for a donut shop to sell.


Leave a Reply

