05
Nov
09

Early Morning Breakfast, with Gratis!

With so many exciting things for Austinites to do at all hours of the day, one can easily work up a late night appetite.  Fortunately, if you know where to go you can avoid scrounging for left-overs at three in the morning.  One of my favorite places to go, both because of the food and the friendly service is Mrs. Johnson’s bakery located  on the corner of Airport and 49th 1/2 Street.

Mrs. Johnson's Bakery

Mrs. Johnson's Bakery

 

 

Mrs. Johnson’s opens every day at 7:30pm and closes the following day at noon.  That means you can technically eat here at any time morning or night ( just not during the day ) to enjoy their wonderful hand-made pastries and kolaches.  And although it keeps odd hours, it is not unusual to see a line here.

It’s not surprising that people come here again and again, because the people are very friendly and they offer free food!  That’s right, with almost every order (not EVERY order so don’t crucify me if I’m wrong) they provide a free glazed donut.  The tradition of giving free treats to customers in hopes that they will return is called gratis and is primarily practiced in Cajun parts of Louisiana.  Well it sure has kept me coming back there.  I even came once with a friend and bought one donut, my friend got nothing and the owner gave us both a free donut in addition to the one I purchased.  I can’t say he’s that generous everyday but it still goes to show what a great family business this is.

Treats

For those of you who do not wish to venture so far North for you tasty late night treats check out Mrs. Johnson’s counterpart, Ken’s donuts located at 29th and Guadalupe in West Campus.

 

6 Responses to “Early Morning Breakfast, with Gratis!”


  1. November 5, 2009 at 3:25 pm

    I’m so pumped somebody talked about Mrs. Johnson’s. I actually live at Caswell and 51st and it is always a liate night stop (especially when studying). My roommates and I went their a lot this summer and have talked a little with the owner but he is pretty reserved. The doughnuts are the best I’ve ever had. There has to be drugs in them.

  2. November 7, 2009 at 9:44 am

    I really want to try this place! I wish it was closer to campus though.

  3. November 8, 2009 at 6:38 pm

    I can say I’ve had the good fortune of ordering a Mrs. Johnson Donut when the “fresh donuts” sign is lit. Those things are delicious. The trip on Airport is worth it when you sink your teeth into a hot, soft glazed. The map is a very nice addition to a very well-informed post. You obviously have exceptional taste in pastries.

  4. 4 Leigh.
    November 8, 2009 at 10:16 pm

    oh my goddd mrs. johnson’s. it’s so fun to go there late at night, especially when they’re baking the doughnuts at midnight.
    and austin, my boyfriend lives at 51st and Caswell. you two are neighbors.

  5. November 20, 2009 at 1:09 pm

    mas tukeran link yuk..
    pasang dulu link ane di blog ente..
    trus kalo udah konfirmasi ke ane..
    tar link ente tak tancepin di blog ane….gmn??


Leave a Reply

