01
Nov
09

Best date place in town!

I didn’t want to ruin the ambiance, so I didn’t take pictures of my meal, the decor, etc. BUT I do offer to accompany anyone (that I know personally) to this hot spot that is Fonda San Miguel. Hands down my favorite restaurant in Austin, and quite the romantic setting if you want it to be. If you’re tired of the same-old Guero’s, Maudie’s, Trudy’s, Z Tejas, El Arroyo, and looking to impress/step it up a notch… consider FSM.

Their food is authentic and fresh. From the salsa they give you with chips at the start of the meal to every ingredient in an entree. You can even watch them make hand-make corn and flour tortillas up close and personal.

The decor is inviting, striking, immaculate, and the lights remain dimmed.

Anyone with an appetite can find a dish to suit him/her, and your date will surely leave with smile.

Let’s say your date is a health nut like myself. No problem. I suggest the Relleno de Espinacas, my favorite dish in town. It’s a roasted poblano pepper stuffed with goat cheese, spinach, raisins, and pine nuts that rests in a plate full of Jitomate sauce… basically tomato sauce. That’s it! Simple and absolutely, spectacularly delicious. That is… if you like goat cheese!

As for the not-so-health conscious date… believe me, he/she can find something to eat, too. (It’s Mexican food for pete’s sake!) My date ordered the tortilla soup and Tacos al Pastor (pork) and left FSM raving about his meal.

For those who can appreciate a bowl of queso and can think outside of the box… I suggest you begin your meal with a plate of Queso Asado. Served with homemade tortillas… you won’t regret it. With or without chorizo and/or poblano strips… you decide. It’s fresh, stringy (because it’s melted cheese), and positively delicious.

The interior feels homey and comfortable, and the waiting staff is personable and helpful. Not to mention all say the menu items as they should be pronounced in Spanish… always a plus in my book.

Here, check out the menus for yourself. Anyone care to join me?

Let’s hear about your favorite date spots and Mexican food restaurants in the comment section!

6 Responses to “Best date place in town!”


  1. 1 Grant
    November 2, 2009 at 11:23 am

    This is hands down my favorite restaurant! My favorite entree is the duck enchiladas with green chili sauce. They also have the best white fish ceviche and tortilla soup I have ever had. I have always been a lover of good Mexican food, but was never able to pick a restaurant that was far beyond the rest until I ate here.

  2. 2 Erin Harris
    November 2, 2009 at 11:59 am

    White fish ceviche will DEFINITELY be my appetizer next time!

  3. November 2, 2009 at 4:30 pm

    My favorite date place to go is definitely Mount Binal. Watching the sun set overlooking the million dollars homes, is a nice place to be.

  4. 4 brandonfried
    November 2, 2009 at 4:42 pm

    I’m so glad you did a write-up on Fonda San Miguel, Erin. I’ve been meaning to try their Brunch forever since I hear it’s the best in town and now I know I MUST really, really soon.

  5. 5 Erin Harris
    November 2, 2009 at 7:17 pm

    You know, I haven’t tried their brunch although I hear it’s fantastic. Don’t know if it could beat my favorite brunch plate in town – Chez Zee’s Goat Cheese and Tomato omelet – but I’ll put it to the test.


Leave a Reply

