31
Oct
09

A Taste of Italy on 5th St.

Today for a close friends birthday dinner, a few friends and I went to Carmelo’s Italian Restaurant. Carmelo’s is located at 504 East 5th Street. At first we drove pass the restaurant because it was hidden, but once inside, the atmosphere really makes you feel like you’re in a little Italian village. The first person who greets you is the complimentary valet. Having the valet made parking downtown great. It was a complete relief to not have to drive around the block looking for a parking spot.

Carmelos on 5th St.

Carmelos on 5th St.

 For the night, we booked an entire dining room to sit the twenty guests. I thought the food was delicious, the service was okay, but the price range made my pockets a little light. The menu was pretty expensive.

This was a full serving of food. I only got half.

This was a full serving of food. I only got half.

As soon as we arrived the waiters kept saying, “we make the best margaritas!” Since I was designated driver, I couldn’t experience their self-proclaimed ‘best margaritas.’ I wasn’t too disappointed my water and lemon quenched my thirst.

The plate I ordered was the Fettuccine Luisa. My food was SCRUMPITIOUS! The only bad thing about the order was that it was the small portion and was the size of a kids meal. Luckily, I filled up on the complimentary bread.

Everyone eating

Everyone eating their dinner

 If you can afford to spend $25 a plate on fettuccini, this would be a great place to experience Italy in Austin. But for now I’ll just stick with an Italian restaurant that’s college affordable…Olive Garden on South Lamar. Bon Appetit!

4 Responses to “A Taste of Italy on 5th St.”


  1. November 1, 2009 at 2:01 am

    I love Carmelos! The menu is a bit expensive but you are eating great food. Its the kind of spot you go to when you want to celebrate or land a new client 😉 Have fun and can’t wait to hear about Olive Garden tastings.

  2. 2 Erin Harris
    November 1, 2009 at 11:38 pm

    I remember enjoying my meal and the scene, but my friends don’t recall having a good food experience. I remember the utterly dangerous dessert cart… did you save room for some sweets?

  3. November 2, 2009 at 4:24 pm

    Unfortunately I didn’t have a tasty treat after dinner. Next time I go, I’ll make sure to look at the dessert menu.

  4. November 20, 2009 at 3:00 pm

    So glad you enjoyed our complimentary valet parking and private room, our genuine Italian atmoshpere and scrumptious food!
    Many of our guests have expressed enjoying our smaller portion choices, in the case of the Fettuccine Luisa the cost is $14, while the regular portion is $20.
    Our attentive waiter was asked by one of the group if we serve margaritas and replied the truth-we have the best, which became the repartee for a while as ordering took place.
    Your group requested separate checks, two in your party failed to pay by the way!
    If you received the smaller portion of Fettuccine Luisa and paid for the regular one, please let us know so that we may send you a gift certificate.

    Food is our passion, your enjoyment our mission.

    Buon Appetito!


Leave a Reply

